top of page
  • Macy

HOW TO PUT PHOTOS ON CANVAS

I love photos on canvas. I don't love the prices I have to pay for them.

So I decided to get crafty and wrap my own.

Items Needed: Canvas - bought them at Hobby Lobby (2 - 8x10 for $3.99 and 2 - 5x7 for 2.99) Photos printed on photo paper - had mine printed at Walmart ( about $6.00 for all 4) Craft paint - You can use any color. I used glossy black. ( about $1.50) Mod Podge ​Foam paint brush X-acto knife or scissors Ruler

Step 1: Paint the sides and edges of the canvas. Painting the edges of the canvas keeps any white from showing when you put your picture on it. Let dry


Step 2: Trim photo to fit if needed. I had to trim all of my pictures. I used a ruler and x-acto knife. Scissors would be fine too. You just want to make sure you get a straight edge.


Step 3: Cover entire canvas with Mod Podge and place photo on top. I used a clean foam brush to get out the air bubbles. Let dry for a few minutes. Doesn’t have to be completely dry.


Step 4: Use foam brush to cover entire surface with Mod Podge. I used sweeping strokes so it would look more like a painting. Make sure you don’t get it to thick on the faces. Let dry completely.


Enjoy your new masterpiece. Skill level is very low. Would be great to do with kids and makes great gifts for loved ones.

131 views0 comments
bottom of page